About the Council

The Council of Presidents (COP) is an association of Washington’s six public baccalaureate degree granting college and universities.  Located in Olympia, WA, COP strives to be a common voice for the public baccalaureate sector and the most respected and trusted resource for decision makers on issues affecting public higher education. COP serves as the coordinating role for a number of initiatives and activities common to the public baccalaureate institutions, fostering coordination and collaboration among the public baccalaureates as well as with other educational partners, both in Washington and nationally.


Each year on July 1 a different president assumes the role of COP chair. The chairs of all COP committees also rotate on the same schedule. Below are the current members of The Council of Presidents.


Council of Presidents Staff

  • Paul Francis, Executive Director
  • Cody Eccles, Associate Director
  • Julie Garver, Associate Director for Academic Policy
  • Laurel le Noble, Media and Operations Manager
  • Darshan Robertson, Executive Assistant
      • __________________________________________________________________

        Scholarships Up to $22,500 for STEM & Health Care Majors

        Washington State Opportunity Scholarship (WSOS) announced that the online application for the 2016-2017 will be available January 4, 2016!



        WaCLA High School Essay Contest <Liberal Arts Essay Contest> <WaCla Champion Award>


COP News

EWU Veterans Resource Center highlighted in Washington State Senate visit

Dave Mille, EWU Director of the Veterans Resource Center and John Neac, EWU expert on credit for prior learning, were invited guests in Senate Higher Education to give presentations on the work EWU is doing to serve Veterans, their spouses, and dependents.

01/20/2016 | EWU Government Relations


UW Researchers develop inexpensive system to improve bus service

University of Washington researchers have developed an inexpensive system that uses Wi-Fi and Bluetooth signals from bus passengers’ mobile phones and devices to collect better data to deliver service.

01/20/2016 | UW Today



Honoring Dr. Elson Floyd